The Better Part of Me...

Across the Board
2004-04-27 @ 7:19 p.m.

Saddest Things About the Last 48 Hours

- My sweet, innocent Oliver killing a bunny.

- Bursting into tears when I hugged my grandpa and then losing control of the crying and snotting all over my dads shirt when he came to comfort me.

- Kids crying.

- Dad crying.

- Everyone, all around me, crying.

- The absolutely gorgeous version of "When the Saints Go Marching In" that closed the funeral mass.

- Hearing my grandparents friends relate what's going on in our lives currently to us - apparently our grandparents talked about us a lot and were (are) very proud of us. It would have been nice to know that while my grandma was alive.

- My grandpa innocently admitting he doesn't know how to cook which inspired the realization that my grandma had been his caretaker for almost 50 years and a sudden fear that my grandpa may not be able to feed himself.

- Watching my Grandpa say goodbye.

- Saying goodbye.

Happiest Things About the Last 48 Hours

- The unexpected and inexplicable shopping spree my dad took us on.

- Playing "pirates" with my little brother and agreeing to dig a hole for treasure at a later date.

- Meeting my baby sister.

- My baby sister falling asleep in my arms.Hearing my grandparents friends relate what's going on in our lives currently to us - apparently our grandparents talked about us a lot and were very proud of us. It would have been nice to know that while my grandma was alive.

- Hearing my grandparents friends relate what's going on in our lives currently to us - apparently our grandparents talked about us a lot and were (are) very proud of us.

- Spending time and getting to know the only cousins on either side of the family who are remotely close to our age (the oldest is my sisters age).

- Eating chili cheese dogs and ice cream in the Dairy Queen parking lot with my sister.

- The absolutely gorgeous version of "When the Saints Go Marching In" that closed the funeral mass.

- Watching ex husbands/wives sit with current husband/wives and their exes - peaceably - at the funeral luncheon.

Most Perplexing Things About the Last 48 Hours

- The number of people who approached me, exclaiming my name, and expecting me to remember who they are even though it had been 15-20 years since I had last seen them.

- The gentleman whose response to my sister telling him which town he lived in was to tell her that his brother is an alcoholic who goes to AA meetings with a woman who was involved with a meth lab in the town where my sister lives.

- Oliver killing a bunny (!!)

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland