The Better Part of Me...

Call me Squirt!
2004-03-17 @ 3:40 p.m.

I would like for someone to start calling me "squirt," please. In return I am willing to call you "peanut" or "sugarbritches." I prefer "peanut", but it will really be your choice.

***

Happy St. Patrick's Day! No, I don't really care about this holiday very much. The 1/8 irish I carry around with me isn't enough to get me all riled up about it. Traditionally, this day has been good to me, but I think that's mostly because I don't care much about it so it tries extra hard to win my favor. In any case - drink some green beer & be merry tonight!

***

The dogsitting thing has started to get a little out of control. I even have a little bit of a hard time referring to it as "puppysitting" since the "puppy" in question easily towers over and outweighs my 4 year old dog. I bring the "puppy" over to my house a couple nights a week because it's just easier to let the dogs play in my fenced in backyard than it is for me to worry constantly about one of them dashing into the street and getting smooshed by a car, plus - whenever I bring Oliver over to "the puppy's" house he just stands in the corner and makes weird crying noises. At least at my house he'll run and play and make weird crying noises.

Anyhow - so "the puppy" tracked mud all over my kitchen floor last night. It's not the end of the world, it's just a matter of sweeping and scrubbing, but it shows some seriously bad manners. Oliver at least stops at the door and lets me wipe his paws off when it's muddy outside. Sunny just gallavanted on by me and into the living room like he owned the place. THEN, while I was wiping Oliver's paws down, "The puppy" had the nerve to stick his nose up Oliver's butt.

That bastard!

I eventually gave up on my kitchen floor and settled down on the couch to eat when there came a crash from the kitchen and Oliver came flying into the living room like a bat out of Hell. I sighed and moved to the kitchen to check it out what all the commotion was about only to find that "the puppy" had somehow gotten the corner of the lid off of Oliver's treat bucket and had buried his head in the bucket while he noisily scarfed down all of Oliver's treats. No wonder Oliver was in a panic! His treats!

I'm not sure how to handle naughty puppy behavior anymore because it's so rare that I have to deal with it these days. Turns out, however, that I do not miss owning a puppy. Not one single bit. Puppies are the cutest ever, but grown up dogs are so much more enjoyable. So, seriously, remind me of this the next time I become wooed by a tiny fuzzy puppy face.

***

Listening To:

Reading: Stones from the River by Ursual Hegi. I'm so addicted to this book. It's one of the best I've found in a long time.

Recently Saw: Oh my...I got so sucked into "Celeste in the City" on Sunday night that I completely cast aside "High School Reunion" which I'd been waiting for since last season. "Celeste" was so cute. Ethan Embry was the cutest and that is why I made him my new husband. I managed to catch "High School Reunion" when it re-aired last night and I gotta say - I hate most of those bastards. What kind of 28 year old women scream like that? Also? I hope it's the gay dude who gets the surprise proposal at the end. And I hope it comes from the redneck. That would be awesome.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland