The Better Part of Me...

Rise Up
2004-03-12 @ 12:29 p.m.

I almost got run over by my high school religion teacher the other day. It's always a little unnerving to step off the curb and realize that the car is not going to stop at that stop sign - JACKASS! but it's even more unnerving when you step off the curb and immediately jump back because the jackass didn't stop at the stop sign and - Holy crap! That's your religion teacher from 10th Grade! And he's waving! But wait...oh, that is a smug wave. That is not the wave of a man saying "hello former student of mine how nice of you to almost step out in front of my car as it flies through this stop sign!" that is the smug wave of a man saying "HA! That's right you lowly pedestrian! My car outweighs you by approximately 2000 pounds. So what are you gonna do about it? I could smite you in an instant! Yeah, that's right, you better step off! Reco'nize foo'."

Of course, it was much later that I realized all this. At the time I stood half on the curb half off the curb waving back like an idiot as if to say "HEY! It's okay that you almost smooshed me under your piece of shit station wagon! It's my fault. Really. I mean, it's not quite below zero out here so what's my hurry, right? I'll just hang out here on this corner til all you cars are finished doing your driving thing. No no. I'm plenty warm. Carry on!"

I hate it when that happens.

In any case, that's what kind of week it's been.

Not bad so much as strange and somewhat ironic but mostly I've just been too busy to pay much attention. This is a good thing, regardless of how it sounds.

This weekend promises...well...absolutely nothing actually. I have some movies to watch and some laundry to do. Never a dull moment here.

Happy Friday!

***

Listening To: New Indigo Girls CD! (which I bought in Feb. but it took FOREVER to get here so technically I have broken no March rules). It's awesome. I love it. It's made me cry ("All that We Let In") and it's made me rock out ("Hearache for Everyone") and it's made me miss old friends ("Something Real") and it's made me want to...Rise up ("Rise Up").

Reading: Stones from the River by Ursula...um...something. More on that next time.

Recently Saw: Pbbblt. It's been a crap week for TV. However, the Friends rerun last night with Brad Pitt was awesome. I don't know that it's one of my top five faves, but it's definitely a good one.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland