The Better Part of Me...

Woke Up Today to Everything Gray
2003-11-03 @ 3:02 p.m.

I woke up to a blizzard this morning. The flakes were falling fast and furious and they were gigantic and wet enough to stick to me as I walked to work so that by the time I entered my building, I vaguely resembled a snowman.

I just raked all the leaves off my lawn yesterday and traded the "Spring is Here" wreath that hangs on the wall by my TV for the "Let it Snow" wreath. Coincidence? I don't think so.

I'm not trying to say that I control the weather or anything, but it sure does seem like it was waiting for me to give it permission.

Not that I did necessarily. I'm not exactly happy about the snow. While I know that winter brings all kinds of snow-dependent adventures (snowmobiling, sledding, throwing snowballs at the dog), I've been very reluctant about accepting it this year. Thanksgiving and Christmas are great and all, but there's a long ass time between the frenzied pace of the holidays and the first buds of spring and I don't always thrive so well in those late winter days. Plus - I have to start wearing socks again and man, I just hate wearing socks. I was born to be barefoot.

In any case, happy winter y'all.

***

Listening To: Indigo Girls, still. At least, that's what's in my car. I went through a whole collection full of music over the weekend.

Reading: Um, I'm thinking of putting the Wendy Holden book on hold in favor of something a little less fluffy. We'll see how that goes.

Recently Saw: I don't want to talk about the Vikings/Packers game last night except to say that it would have been a totally different game if our defense had decided to show up. Mother of fuck.

Also - "Bend it Like Beckham". Um. 3 times. Heh. In a row. I'm not sure what happened this weekend except that it wasn't a very good one and I was pretty sad for most of it and I liked the way this movie made me feel. It's kind of a chick flick and there's a fair amount of fluff in it and it's got a sort of "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" meets "Blue Crush" vibe working for it but - I'm thinking I'm going to have to buy it. Jonathan Rhys Meyers is totally my new boyfriend.

I did also manage (despite the sudden OCD with "Bend it Like Beckham") to see "Whalerider" (See, I watched it before I put the other movie in). I also loved love loved this movie, but for a totally different reason. It's a beautiful story. I laughed, I cried, and basically I became 12 years old again as I got swept up in the sort of magic of the movie. I highly recommend it.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland