The Better Part of Me...

Fall Perfection
2003-09-29 @ 3:10 p.m.

Bear and I went to the Minnesota Renaissance Festival this weekend. It was perfect. The weather was chilly (even for fall) and the sky was mostly cloudy and there were tiny little spits of rain from time to time, but that's what this season is all about and it made the soup in a bread bowl just that much more appropriate. We spent our first two hours at the Festival at Vegetable Justice (please note - that picture is not actually from the MN RenFest - it does, however, accurately portray what one would see at Vegetable Justice) where we saw guys sitting behind walls with only their heads and hands poking through hurling insults at people who have paid $5 to hurl tomatoes at them. Does it sound hokey? Probably. I will tell you though that this is some of the funniest stuff I have heard in a long time. Maybe it's because I have not matured past the age of 12, but when one of the guys screamed at an old man "HEY - SIR! HAVE YOU EVER THOUGHT ABOUT HOW YOU'RE OLD AS HELL?" I almost wet myself.

We also had a chance to take in two shows by the Tortuga Twins. The first show was a rendition of "Robin Hood" involving members of the audience and it was truly hysterical. The second show involved some swords and some shiny pink women's unmentionables and a lot of beer. I believe it was supposed to be The Three Musketeers, but the performers were pretty trashed and spent most of the time giggling onstage - which was actually more funny than you might think.

Yesterday Bear and I bought cinnamon rolls and garlic bread (yeah, we don't know why either) and spent the day burning CD's and watching the Vikings game.

Perfect. Fall. Weekend.

I leave Thursday for North Carolina. At this time, that is all I'm going to say about that.

***

I joined Friendster today. Shut up. EVERYONE talks about it on their blogs these days, so in order to not miss out on the newest pop culture craze (the horror!) I decided I had better see what the whole thing is all about. And? This is going to get addicting. I can tell. It's just so....NEAT. And even if I never talk to someone in my gallery, this is just hours and hours of entertainment.

Also - if you'd like to be my friendster, just let me know. It's just as important for me to be popular as it is for me to be on the cutting edge of todays trends (although, seriously, I'm way late on the friendster wagon, it'll stop being cool by Wednesday probably.)

***

Listening To: The Del Amitri CD that Bear let me burn yesterday!

Reading: Um, in a move that is completely uncharacteristic for me, I'm currently reading a whole bunch of things, including Cause Celeb by Helen Fielding, approximately 25 TWoP recaps, and the latest issue of People.

Recently Saw: Bear and I curled up in front of Darkness Falls on Saturday after we got home from the RenFest. We were both scared a little silly at first, and then Bear fell asleep. She still managed to proclaim her dislike of the movie though, as she woke up for the last 2 minutes of it. Seriously - ask her for a review...(heartheartheart).

Also - the Vikings. Lest I say anything that might be deemed tacky, I'll just stick out my tongue and blow raspberries while humming the *neener neener neener* tune.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland