The Better Part of Me...

Sometimes You Wanna Go...
2003-06-09 @ 2:30 p.m.

First and most definitely foremost - ginormous, polar bear sized thankyouthankyouthankyous to Molly (who has her diary locked, I know) who did miraculous and beautiful things to my layout over the weekend. In case you were wondering who rocks? Now you know. I do. Oh! And Molly does too. :)

***************************************

I miss being a part of something.

Being the head of something.

Being in the middle of things.

I miss people just stopping by out of the blue to say hi - cuz they were passing by my house. Or they couldn't get through to call ahead cuz the line was busy. Or because what's the fun in calling ahead?

Several times this past weekend my head would shoot up when Oliver started barking. Me, fully expecting to see someone standing at the screen or walking up the front walk. My eyes would dart to the door and I'd sit up a little straighter and momentarily fret about the fact that I was dressed in ratty old PJ bottoms and a tank top that A) did nothing for my body and B) didn't match the ratty pants. Smiles would dance lightly across my lips and my heart would give an excited "GALUMP" as I craned my neck out to see...

The neighbor kids playing on Big Wheels. An old man shuffling slllloooowwwwwwlllllyyyyy across the street. Someone walking a spastic cocker spaniel half a block away. A leaf that fell a leetle too close to the screen door for my vicious guard dog's liking.

And each time - my heart would take a tiny little tumble.

I used to be that girl. People did used to show up at my doorstep at all hours of the day or night - just to say hi, or force me to share a 40 with them all ghetto style on the front steps, or whisk me away on some whirlwind midnight adventure, or to talk all night until the wee small hours of the morning because life is hard, and boys do suck and hey - so do girls! And no - maybe you shouldn't have flicked your boss off as you walked out the door 3 hours before your shift ended and yeah...he'll probably fire you, but here - here's another beer and I'll make some popcorn and none of this is going to hurt as bad as it does right now - by tomorrow morning.

I just...miss that. That's all.

**************************************

Listening To: Some song by Collapsis that I discovered this weekend and it's really really really good.

Also - I did receive my New Kids on the Block Greatest Hits CD this past weekend. Anyone desiring copies should let me know. Don't be shy. And don't worry - I won't "out" you to the world. I understand that NKOTB lovers need to come to terms with their love at their own pace.

Reading: The Shipping News by...um. Someone who won the Pulitzer for this book, that's for sure. I just started it last night, so juries out.

However, I finished "Honk & Holler Opening Soon" by Billie Letts this past weekend and let me tell you that I loved this book! I loved it! I couldn't put it down on Saturday night. I loved the characters and the storyline and the goofiness of the entire book. It was so...cute. I definitely recommend.

Recently Saw: Rabbit Proof Fence - which was fairly depressing, but good. It was definitely worth the watch.

I also saw the first episode of The Real World - Paris this weekend. Oh my God. I have high hopes for this season's cast to not be as hateful as LAST season's cast, but it's not looking good. I already hate Adam. I'm not terribly fond of the other dude who's supposedly super hott but isn't, really.

That is all.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland