The Better Part of Me...

The Turd that Won't Flush
2003-03-11 @ 11:30 a.m.

I had my second conversation ever with Bear's new...whatever*, last night. His official nickname is now "The Roadrunner" because a conversation with him is the equivalent of a day in the life of the Roadrunner. An example - last night (almost verbatum - he didn't actually say "babble blabber babble blab" - I substituted that for whatever it was he actually said at such an alarmingly fast rate I wasn't even sure he was speaking english.):

RR: HI!

ME: HI!

RR: babble blabber babble blab

ME: (pause) So - are you going to come and see me then?

RR: (apparently at the top of his lungs) WHAT?????????????????????

ME: Um. So are you going to come and see me then?

RR: Well. I definitely think I should meet more of [Bear]'s friends. All [Bear]'s friends here love me. 4 out of 5 is not bad.

ME: (quickly losing track of whatever it is I thought we were talking about) So - you think the odds are in your favor then?

RR: I think so - but [Bear] just thinks that I'm odd.

ME: (groaning) Um. No.

RR: (giggle giggle hysterical maniacal laugh giggle wheeze giggle) (heard very faintly) and then you poke it - and you keep poking it and poking it and poking it *giggle giggle giggle hysterical giggling* and poking it and poking it and then your index finger gets tired *giggle*

ME: (uneasy laugh)

RR: HAW-A-II

ME: (extremely confused) Hawaii?

RR: HAW-A-II

ME: Yeh? Hawaii?

RR: (hysterical maniacal giggle)

ME: Heh?

RR: BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA GIGGLE FIT HHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

NOTE: at this point I pulled the phone away from my ear so my sister - across the room - could hear and arch her eyebrows in distress.

ME: Um. Heh?

RR: OH MY GOD. I'm going to give you back to [Bear] now. Have a good night. (hysterical sounding guffaw).

ME: (utterly confused) So - k bye?

I'm super glad that my best friend is (NOT) dating Speedy Gonzalez on crack. I'm a little afraid to meet him though as I have a general mistrust of anyone who does anything maniacally.

* I've gotten her permission to call him her "turd that won't flush", but just because there is the possibility that this will take a sudden, inexplicable turn and they'll wind up getting married, I'm going to refrain from such terminology.

**************************************

Listening To: The sort of buzzing noise going on in my ears. Nerves, yo. Nerves.

Reading: Just TIME Magazine last night. The new book is probably not going to cut it.

Recently Saw: I spent pretty much the entire night on the phone last night so I didn't see anything! Wait. I did manage to catch all the re-run shows between 5:30-7 p.m. But those don't count cuz I've seen them all already.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland