The Better Part of Me...

Hair Panic!
2003-05-27 @ 3:48 p.m.

I am having a hair crisis. Nobody I've spoken to about it today has seemed to feel the gravity of this situation. I am one of those people who walks around for weeks, even months at a time, not giving a seconds thought to her hair and then one morning she'll wake up and decide that something needs to be done. Immediately.

Today was that morning.

Unfortunately, my hairstylist just up and quit a few weeks ago, the only other woman working in that salon has no openings that fit my schedule and I still refuse, no matter how desperate the situation, to spend more than $20 on a haircut. At this point, however, it doesn't seem to matter as nobody has any openings anyway.

You know what this means, right?

Cost Cutters.

It has to happen.

Interestingly, 2 years ago Cost Cutters (or a version thereof) was my main haircutting place. I didn't give a second thought to it. It's just hair after all, and it will always grow back and seriously - $7 is a perfectly reasonable price for a haircut. Then I met my friend Margy who is a hairstylist at a more swanky salon, and she made me promise to never go back to cost cutters. Ever. Again. (She also forbade me to use Pantene hair products ever again - an interesting sidebit.)

So here I am - having a hair emergency. Margy is 1000 miles away from me and nobody wants to put me on their schedules this week. My hair, in the meantime, is starting to mullet slowly down my neck and flip out all Farrah Fawcett style at my ears. I am very 70's chic right now. The good news is that the cut is already there - the general shape of it is pretty clear to see. All I need done is some thinning and some shaping and some length off the back. The bad news is that it involves some pretty serious layering, and that just seems...scary to me.

Wish me luck. I'll update on the hair crisis tomorrow.

**************************************

Camping, by the way, was a blast. The alcohol flowed freely, the food seemed to mulitply on the table, the sun shown all weekend long and there were boat rides! Oliver behaved himself - he got to go swimming and on the boat and he only peed on the little kids lawn chairs! By the time we got home (Sunday night) he slept all night long and all day yesterday. I walked away from the weekend with a hearty sunburn and the eagerness to do it again sometime soon.

Woo Camping!

***************************************

Listening To: Love Song for a Vampire by Annie Lennox. I found this song on Kazaa last weekend. It's a gorgeous song but it also holds some powerful memories for me. I remember vividly falling asleep beside my ex boyfriend - "the bastard" - to the haunting strains of the "Interview with a Vampire Soundtrack". When this song came on, he woke me up so we could lie side by side and listen to it together. I remember how nice it felt to be laying there in a sleep fog nestled against him and listening to this beautiful song together in the wee small hours of the morning.

It took a long time for me to be able to remember the good stuff about him. It's nice, now, being in this place and looking back from here.

Reading: In between books right now - finally finished Family Pictures. It was good, but it never got to be as great as I kept expecting it to.

Recently Saw: Oprah yesterday. She had John Travolta on. Awww. John Travolta. *Swoon*

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland