The Better Part of Me...

On a Clear Day...
2005-02-24 @ 10:26 a.m.

Thank God it�s Thursday.

I�m working a short day again tomorrow, so this will be the last long day I have to drag myself through this week. I initially had fancypants plans to spend the weekend in luxury in Minneapolis, but those plans have since morphed into a couple of quiet evenings at home in order to conserve money. I�m going to cut out of work early tomorrow to get a head start on the sloth portion of my week.

I deserve it.

This has been one Hell of a week.

Last Sunday Oliver ruptured his Anterior Cruciate Ligament which is apparently the ligament that holds the knee together. Until Monday afternoon, I wasn�t even entirely aware that dogs had knees. They tell me that knee injuries like this are not uncommon in highly athletic dogs (which I wasn�t aware that Oliver was), particularly in �ball dogs� (okay, that�s Oliver). The result of the ruptured ligament is that Oliver is hobbling around on three legs because the hurt leg is too painful to walk on. The vet prescribed anti-inflammatory medication (which seems to have done wonders for his mood as well as enabling him to put at least minimal weight on his injured leg, which gives me hope). If sufficient progress isn�t made by the end of this week, we�re looking at surgery. As many of you know, surgery for your pet costs approximately your soul to finance. Ramen noodles, here I come.

On top of the gimpy dog and the sudden financial crisis (or the possibility of) the tension levels in my home remain at an all time high. Last night we made a little headway in that we actually had a conversation that flowed both ways and there was significant giggling and genuine interest in each others lives. I was sad to realize how much I�d missed out on though. How can two people live under the same roof and be so separate from each other? I suppose this is how normal roommate relationships work, but mine didn�t work like that up to this point. What is happening, I think, is that our lives are just splitting in two different directions right now � which is natural and healthy and has happened before and we�ve survived it. It�s just magnified this time because of the close quarters that we share.

All of this has led to the muscles in my shoulders and neck being wound as tight as they can be, a vague tension headache that has followed me around since Monday afternoon, and a teeny tiny cold sore that appeared on my top lip this morning. I am ready for sloth! Take me away�

In happier news, the boy thinks I have arms like tree trunks.

Oh. Wait.

Well, his intentions were good.

The boy braved my family last weekend. I�ve always been a little hesitant terrified of introducing people to my family because they are, how do you say�insane. I love them to pieces but I have always known that if you did not grow up in that environment, it can be both overwhelming and frightening. Most people fall in love with my family fairly quickly. When Miss M. visited a couple of summers ago it took her approximately an hour to ask if they would adopt her and she became so much a part of us that the string of names she called my uncle when she discovered that he�d stuffed her overnight bag with mint oreos was remarkably similar to the names I have been calling him my whole entire life.

In any case, I was extremely nervous about how the family introduction would go. It�s one thing to throw Miss M. into my family, there�s no pressure there. It�s another thing entirely to take someone I�m dating and throw them into my family. It�s also something I�ve never done before. Ever. Things went well though. My family seems genuinely happy that I met someone �nice� and while I�m not exactly sure that he actually liked my family, I know that he tolerated them very well and doesn�t seem to have a problem with them which is a start�(they�ll woo him in time).

It�s starting to feel comfortable. Rather than this strange new entity in my life, he�s starting to carve out his own little place. It�s starting to not feel weird when we talk about doing stuff a month from now or three months from now or �eventually�. I�m starting to trust this.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland