The Better Part of Me...

Not Talking About It
2004-11-03 @ 11:27 a.m.

I don�t want to talk about the election today. I don�t want to talk about who I voted for and I don�t want to talk about whether my guy won or lost and I don�t want to talk about how absolutely batshit crazy people are about this election this year. Have you heard what people are saying? There�s a reason I don�t discuss my politics with anyone but a very small and very select group of people (not all of whom agree with my politics, by the way) these days. When did we become such venomous people? Somebody asked me last weekend who I was going to vote for and my immediate response was �Are you picking a fight with me?�

Yeah. It�s been that bad.

In any case, I am madly in love with what Michele at "A Small Victory" has to say about all of this. It�s not about whether or not my candidate won yesterday (and if you think the fact that I read Michele regularly is an indicator of my political leanings � you wouldn�t be entirely wrong, but you wouldn�t be entirely right either) it�s about not wishing terrorist attacks and violent uprisings on my country. It�s about caring enough about my country to take extreme offense to the threats (however baseless) to join al Qaeda as revenge for�for what? For not getting what you wanted? It�s a waste of energy folks. If you feel that passionately about it, then stop spitting your venom all over the rest of the world and become active, make a change for the positive. All is not lost here�

Oh crap. I wasn�t going to talk about this stuff. Go read Michele. Peace.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland