The Better Part of Me...

The Cable Company Strikes Again (with a VMA recap Bonus Section)
2004-08-30 @ 11:25 a.m.

Obviously the minute I decided that I was going to spend some time at home playing with HTML and making my new design fancy, my cable modem crapped out on me leaving me internetless and frustrated all weekend long! Can you imagine? The horror! I made several calls to the cable company � most of which were never completed because of the �unusually high call volumes� they were receiving which translates to �expect to spend the majority of your afternoon on hold� and I was not about to devote my weekend to being the cable company�s bitch. The one call that did go through was received by an incredibly nice (and dare-I-say flirtatious?) tech who asked me what I was doing next weekend and chatted with me about the joys of camping and then, from what I can tell, proceeded to blow me off.

I still have no internet at home. I plan to call again when I get off work today and will hopefully get the modem exchanged. In the meantime, I�ll do what I can to tweak the layout while I�m at work. Just be aware that this is still a work in progress. I should actually feel at home with the clumsiness of this page given that my home is in almost identical condition what with the unfinished wood floors and half dug out garden and all.

*Sigh*

The cable company. Still making me want to scratch my face off after all these years.

***

Internet issues aside, the weekend was incredibly low key.

VMA�s last night = incredibly disappointing. Pam does a much better job of recapping them than I ever could, but here are the highlights from my neck of the woods:

*Pre-Show*

Ashlee Simpson looks so awkward on stage. I think it�s the heels. The heels don�t say �punk rock� to me. I think the whole throwing your fist in the hair and banging your head around loses it�s rock-n-roll affect when done half heartedly so as to avoid toppling over.

Who ARE all these people?

Bruce Willis and P. Diddy? Wtf? Did I miss a whole chapter or something? Wasn�t P. Diddy BFF with Ashton? Oh man. That whole situation just gets weirder and weirder all the time.

No�seriously�who are these people?

*Show*

*Bored*

Shaq? Seriously?

I�m kind of over No Doubt. I think Gwen Stefani is probably an awesome person (at least she seems that way in every interview I�ve seen/read) but I�m kind of done with her voice.

Paris Hilton and Christina Aguilara look�nice. Oh. Oh, I kind of hate myself right now.

While I�m hating myself, I�ll admit that I kind of like that first Jessica Simpson song (I can�t stand her cover of Angels, however) which brings the total of Jessica Simpson songs that I kind of like up to two and now I feel as though I�ve just revealed my entire naked soul to the world. Be gentle, dear internet.

Oh. Jon Stewart. This is so beneath you. Really. I�m so embarrassed for you right now.

*bored*

Lenny Kravitz. *lick*

Oh, Alicia Keys looks gorgeous.

The Kerry girls and the Bush girls. How cute.

*Bored*

Wow. I mean, really, who are these people? Are they all famous?

JoJo looks remarkably like a poor man�s L1ndsay L0han, no?

*bored*

Shelly: WTF is wrong with that guy?

Sarah T Um. That�s Marilyn Manson dude.

Shelly: Yeah. I get that. WTF is wrong with him?

Mandy Moore and Marilyn Manson. How cute. With the M�s.

*bored*

OMFGWTF LENNY! Wings? Seriously? WINGS?

Hey � this show was supposed to end at 10!

Shee-it. John Mellencamp? Seriously? Has he always been itty bitty like that?

Oh Good! Outkast Finale!

Wait. Is this the VMA finale or the Democratic Convention?

*bored*

10:20. So much for ending at 10 p.m. Bastards.

***

That�s all I got today�.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland