The Better Part of Me...

Old Wars/New Wars
2004-05-20 @ 9:39 p.m.

I've been invited to a baby shower for a mutual friend by my early adult arch-nemesis. I haven't seen her in over 6 years. We used to be fairly good friends until boys got involved. Isn't that how it always goes? Those boys are always getting in the way. I thought I had found the love of my life (for like the third time) and I introduced the two of them and they wound up dating behind my back. I'd have probably gotten over the fact of them dating. I'm pretty sure it was the fact that they purposely kept it a secret from me that put me over the edge.

Ex-arch-nemesis is now divorced (from someone different than the guy I thought I loved). I guess karma is still alive and kicking, though I don't think I'd have wished for anything that dreadful for her. After all - we were only 19 and if it hadn't been her, it'd have been someone else. I'm not bitter anymore and I'm long over the guy (although I did kind of think we might end up married someday right up until he went and married someone else). I'm scared to see her though! I think this is going to be an incredibly surreal baby shower. Hopefully some other mutual friends will put in an appearance so that I don't have to make nice all on my own.

***

Talking with Miss M. this evening about adventures in dating. She asked me if I sometimes feel like "Mr. Good enough for eternity" is right around the next corner. She said that she can't shake the feeling that the "big relationship" is close. I...do not feel that way. I don't feel like it's ages and ages away or anything. I mostly just don't feel anything about it. I certainly feel ready for a relationship. I absolutely feel like I'm healthy enough and sorted out enough to be good for someone else. I feel like the ground is all laid out for something fantastic to come along - but I don't necessarily feel like it's just around the corner. I feel like it's just...out there. Maybe. Cuz maybe it's not. I guess maybe I don't want to get my hopes up about something that might never happen. My inner optimist is engaged in hand to hand combat with my inner pessimist. Awesome.

***

I might have a little bit of a crush on The Rock. Also, Isaac Hanson. It could be that the reason I don't feel like "happily ever after" is right around the corner because I'm still too busy being a 12 year old girl.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland