The Better Part of Me...

The Memo
2003-06-19 @ 1:12 p.m.

I think the one of the best things ever is when you�re sitting outside at a picnic table eating lunch with a friend you haven�t seen in years, and out of nowhere appears a midget who immediately joins in the conversation by bragging about the amounts of Jack Daniels he can consume.

You have to admit. That is pretty cool.

Yeah.

So anyway � I met another high school friend of mine for lunch today. We ate outside where the street vendors have lined themselves up and down the street for the annual city celebration. I had deep fried cheese curds (heavenly), a corn dog and strawberries and cream. I was actually quite proud of myself for choosing the fresh fruit and cream over the deep fried mini donuts (to go with my deep fried cheese curds and deep fried corn dog � I value consistency.) We exchanged bits of gossip (because that is what we do), discussed an upcoming wedding we�ll be attending, and basically got all caught up on each others lives. Oh � and we also talked to a midget. Well, she did. I kind of sat there in slack jawed wonder.

So many people are married now, some of whom I didn�t even know were married! Some of who I never expected would be married already, and while it�s sometimes hard to not feel like I�m the last to be picked for gym class, it�s even harder to figure out where the shift in our lives occurred. I�m still say things like �I can�t believe so-and-so is married already� when so-and-so is quite likely saying �I can�t believe that Shelly isn�t married yet. *cluck cluck* I never really pegged her as an old maid�� That�s the shift I�m talkin� about.

It�s weird man � because it seems like the majority of people got that memo but I sure as hell didn�t, so everyone is sitting around telling potty training stories and I�m trying to jump in with my �YEAH � My dog did that once.�

*Blank Stares*

Um, right. Dogs are not people. Speaking of my dog as though he is my child is both lame and a little disturbing. Duly noted.

In any case, it's good to catch up with these people, but in small doses I think. Our lives have just gone in different directions and as cute as that potty training story is to so-and-so, mostly I'm just laughing because it's expected of me. Perhaps someday, when I've experienced potty training for myself, I'll appreciate the stories, but for now I'd rather exchange "Man, I was so fucked up..." stories.

Cuz I didn't get the memo.

So I still think that's cool.

***************************************

Listening To: Somewhere in the Middle by Dishwalla

Reading: HA! Shocker. I gave up on "The Shipping News." I gave it 100 pages to hook me and after 100 pages it still hadn't. I checked the Amazon.com reviews on it and discovered that many people felt the same way that I did about it and, Pulitzer Prize aside, it really didn't make for very good reading. So I abandoned it last night and have now started reading "Amanda's Wedding" which is a Bridget Jones-wanna be type book by Jenny Colgan. If nothing else, it'll be an easier read and that in and of itself will be enjoyable for me right now.

Recently Saw: The episode of that surfing reality show that's airing on the WB this summer. It looks...meh. I will probably watch it. Also - Jamie Kennedy Experiment(s) where we laughed and laughed.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland