The Better Part of Me...

Old Friends...Home Again...
2003-06-17 @ 1:43 p.m.

I had lunch with an old friend from high school today. What fun that was! It was so interesting to see that she hadn't changed - except her eyes look older. She's a wife now, and a mom - and that doesn't leave us a whole lot of common ground so we spent a lot of time gossiping about people we mostly could care less about and reassuring each other that it's not terribly unusual to want to go to bed at 9:00 p.m. every week night, but it is still kind of lame.

We'll be in touch - probably meet for lunch on occasion or go for walks with Oliver and her son around the lake. We'll never be close knit or share any kind of intense bond but will, in fact, share the remote kind of friendships that I notice many adults (particularly those who are married with families) sharing. It's another step for me. It's interesting. It's kind of nice.

****************************************

I talked to Miss M. last night about her upcoming visit. We are both very excited. I didn't really think I'd ever say that about her. I guess it's easier, from this distance, to recognize the strengths and weaknesses in our friendship and to play to the strengths.

In a particularly nerdy moment last night I actually heard myself say to Miss M, "Oooh! I hope my peonies are still in bloom when you get here!"

There was a beat of silence before I realized what I'd just done and apologized saying..."wow, that was really lame, wasn't it? Who says that kind of stuff when they're not 50 years old? I guess I haven't gotten any less nerdy since I moved back here."

And then we laughed.

I need a taste of North Carolina right now and she needs to rid her mouth of the taste of it for a while. It works out perfectly for us. Good times will ensue. I am ready.

***************************************

Listening To:

Still Reading: The Shipping News. And Miss Alli's recap of "The Amazing Race."

Recently Saw: I started watching Training Day last night before my phone started ringing. I didn't get very far into it before I abandoned the idea of it altogether. I will try to watch more tonight. So far...it just seems kinda crazy.

<-- -->

NAVIGATE

new
old
profile
100 Things
disclaimer
recommend
Myspace
mail
diaryland